Smeal Senior Awards

This page presents information on the Senior Awards.

Senior Awards

Deadline to apply: February 7, 2020 (5:00 pm EST)

These awards are presented annually in the spring to graduating seniors enrolled in The Smeal College of Business. Seniors who are graduating in the spring, summer, or fall of the same year are eligible to apply.  Recipients will be recognized at commencement and receive a Nittany Lion statuette as well as a monetary award.  Please see the information below to apply:  

Helen Eakin Eisenhower Award

Awarded to a graduating seniors who has demonstrated scholarship, leadership, character, and service to the Smeal College of Business.

Ralph H. Wherry Student Service Award

This award honors graduating seniors who have excelled in service to the College, have exhibited academic achievement, and manifest the promise of a successful professional career.

The John M. & Anne B. Stevens Academic Integrity Award

Awarded to graduating senior (or seniors) who demonstrate leadership in academic integrity by serving on a college committee, task force or in a leadership role, dedicated to upholding the Smeal Honor Code and to promoting a culture of academic integrity.

The George Leland Leffler Scholarship

Awarded to an outstanding Finance major.

2019 Senior Award Recipients


Helen Eakin Eisenhower Award

Kelly Tamburo, Risk Management

Ralph H Wherry Awards

Alyssa(Ally) Berdan, Supply Chain and Information Systems

Paul Birch, Risk Management

Jenny (Ching-Yee) Ho, Finance

Maria Lucchi, Supply Chain and Information Systems

Kate McGrath, Marketing

Emily Purnell, Accounting

Bryce Starner, Corporate Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Hannah Widmayer, Finance

Ben Wonderling, Supply Chain and Information Systems

John M. & Anne B. Stevens Academic Integrity Award

Patrick Bocchicchio, Finance

Natalie Rold, Accounting

George Leland Leffler Award

Nicholas Lope, Finance


ELIGIBILITY:  Seniors who are graduating in the Spring, Summer, or Fall of the same year.



Jana Jaffa
Phone:  814-863-1947